Image Image Image Image Image
Scroll to Top

To Top

January 2012



European Border Breakers Awards celebrating top new talents in European music

The winners of the European Border Breakers Awards 2012 are:

Elektro Guzzi (Austria)
Selah Sue (Belgium)
Agnes Obel (Denmark)
Ben l’Oncle Soul (France)
Boy (Germany)
James Vincent McMorrow (Ireland)
Afrojack (Netherlands)
Alexandra Stan (Romania)
Swedish House Mafia (Sweden)
Anna Calvi (UK)

Hosted by TV personality and musician Jools Holland, the show included live performances by Selah Sue, Agnes Obel, James Vincent McMorrow, Elektro Guzzi, Boy and Anna Calvi. Alexandra Stan was also present to collect her award. Swedish House Mafia, Ben l’Oncle Soul and Afrojack sent video messages. The show was broadcast live via YouTube and will be screened on TV and internet throughout Europe in the coming year.

European music lovers were invited to vote for their favourite EBBA award-winner through traditional and online media in November and December. The voting process was supported by the EBU (European Broadcasting Union) and several European radio stations. The winner is Selah Sue from Belgium. The award was handed out by Ann Branch, Head of Unit, Culture Programme and Actions, DG EAC, European Commission, which co-funds the awards through its Culture programme.

Through these awards, the European Commission spotlights emerging European artists and groups who have successfully reached audiences beyond their home country. At the same time the awards highlight and promote the creativity and diversity of European music and its role in bringing people together and forging mutual understanding.
The EBBA Awards, now in their ninth year, also highlight the need to support the mobility of artists and their work within Europe and beyond.

To find out more: