Image Image Image Image Image
Scroll to Top

To Top

November 2017



Eurosonic Noorderslag announces keynote interview with Harvey Goldsmith by Allan McGowan

Legendary English rock promoter Harvey Goldsmith is confirmed for a keynote interview at the ESNS (Eurosonic Noorderslag) Conference, moderated by renowned British journalist Allan McGowan. Goldsmith is widely recognised and highly respected as a visionary producer, manager and promoter of rock concerts, charity events and television broadcasts. He has worked with the world’s biggest artists and ran two of the largest music events ever, Live Aid and Live 8. His current projects include UK concert tours by Jools Holland, Andrea Bocelli and Hans Zimmer.

ESNS will take place in Groningen (The Netherlands) from the 17th to 20th of January 2018. The event hosts the showcase festivals Eurosonic and Noorderslag, a music conference and several awards ceremonies.

Biography Harvey Goldsmith

Born in 1946 in the north London district of Edgware, Goldsmith founded live music venue Club 66 while a pharmacy student in Brighton. By the end of the sixties the young student had already organised large live events at the Brighton Metropole as well as creating and producing rock events like the Crystal Palace Garden Parties. Clearly it was time to move to bigger events and larger stadiums, and in 1976 he promoted a show for prog-rock act Yes at Queens Park Rangers’ football ground. His first global TV event as a promoter was The Concerts for Kampuchea in 1978 at Hammersmith Odeon, London, featuring artists such as Paul McCartney, Queen and The Who. In 1985 he and Bob Geldof set up Live Aid, a seventeen-hour live TV event watched in over sixty countries that also raised £140 million for charity. Goldsmith has received numerous awards including a CBE in the Queen’s Birthday Honours List in 1996, and more recently a Diamond Award for his contribution to The Arts. In July 2012, Goldsmith received an Honorary Doctorate of Arts from the University of Brighton.

About ESNS

ESNS (Eurosonic Noorderslag) is the place to discover and access the very best emerging European music talent. The event has a proven track record of helping to break new acts on the international music scene, with now well-known names such as Alma, Ásgeir, Aurora, Dua Lipa, Hozier, HER, Mø, My Baby, Rejjie Snow, Lost Frequencies, Roosevelt, Royal Blood, Seinabo Sey and Vök, having played at ESNS as up and coming talents. The B2B side of the event attracts more than 4,000 entertainment industry professionals from all sections of the industry, including representatives of over 400 European festivals, managers, agents, publishers, labels, tech companies and event suppliers. Each year, ESNS stages more than 350 showcases all over the city of Groningen as well as offering a comprehensive and focused conference programme of around 150 panels and keynotes. The event also hosts multiple networking opportunities, annual meetings by music associations, pitch sessions, dinners, parties and dedicated areas featuring the very latest thinking and technical innovation in the music, media, interactive and production industries. At this year’s edition Denmark will be the ESNS focus country.

Acts announced for Eurosonic

Alice Merton (de), Ana Curcin (rs), Ankathie Koi (at), Arcane Roots (gb), Au/Ra (de), August Rosenbaum (dk), Auðn (is), Bad Sounds (gb), BAEST (dk), Bitch Falcon (ie), Cannibale (fr), Celeste (fr), Coals (pl), D/troit (dk), Daniel Brandt & Eternal Something (de), Dermot Kennedy (ie), Diron Animal (pt), Drops & Points by Pascal Schumacher feat. Maxime Delpierre (lu), Ellis May (dk), Giorgio Poi (it), Hater (se), Housewives (gb), Hrtl (cz), IAMJJ (dk), Isac Elliot (fi), Jacob Banks (gb), Janice (se), Jardier (si), KillASon (fr), KONOBA & R.O (be), KYTES (de), L.A. (es), Lorenzo Senni (it), Lxandra (fi), Makree (lv), My Sacrifice (Max Fall) (md), meisterjaan (ee), Mist (gb), Mörk (hu), Naaz (nl), NIHILS (at), Off Bloom (dk), Pale Honey (se), Pardans (dk), Pekko Kappi & K:H:H.L (fi), Peter Kernel (ch), Phlake (dk), Saint Electrics (bg), SANDOR (ch), Scarlet Pleasure (dk), Schnellertollermeier (ch), School of X (dk), Seamus Fogarty (ie), Serushio (pt), SEVEN (ch), Sigrid (no), Širom (si), Soleima (dk), Sonar (pl), Soulé (ie), Superorganism (gb), Tamino (be), The Magnettes (se), Theo Lawrence & The Hearts (fr), TT Syndicate (pt), Úlfur Úlfur (is), Velvet Volume (dk), Vera (dk), Vurro (es), We like We (dk), YONAKA (gb), Yungblud (gb), Zagami Jericho (cz), Zeal & Ardor (ch), ŽEN (hr). More to be announced soon.

Acts confirmed for Noorderslag (nl)

Boef, Dakota, Equalz, Figgie, HAEVN, Iguana Death Cult, Komodo, Korfbal, Latifah, MOOON, MY BABY, Naaz, Nana Adjoa, Rollàn, Roxeanne Hazes, Tusky, Waltzburg, Wulf. More to be announced soon.