Image Image Image Image Image
Scroll to Top

To Top

October 2012



Finnish acts present themselves at Eurosonic Noorderslag 2013

The focus on Finland during the 27th edition of Eurosonic Noorderslag will feature 16 Finnish acts. Each year, the European music conference and showcase festival highlights one European country with a flourishing musical climate. In previous editions focus countries have been France, Germany, Italy, Sweden, Belgium, Norway, The Netherlands and Ireland.

The Finnish acts are: Acid Symphony Orchestra, Death Hawks, Eva & Manu, Lau Nau, LCMDF, Mesak, Michael Monroe, Pertti Kurikan Nimipäivät, Phantom, Satellite Stories, Sin Cos Tan, Siinai.

To celebrate the focus on Finland Eurosonic Noorderslag presents four Finnish acts that previously performed at Eurosonic Noorderslag: Disco Ensemble, Don Johnson Big Band, Huoratron and Rubik.

EBBA Award for French Films
Furthermore, Finnish band French Films is one of the winners of a European Border Breakers Award. French Films and the nine other winners will receive their awards in a televised ceremony hosted by TV personality and musician Jools Holland at the opening of Eurosonic Noorderslag, on the 9th of January 2013. The ceremony, ­ including performances by most of the winning acts, ­ will be broadcast by Dutch National Television (NTR) and will also receive European coverage through TV channels and radio stations.

Finish focus during conference
As part of the focus, subjects important for the Finnish market will be highlighted during the four day conference during the day. Several panels feature Finnish artists managers, Finish festival and radio representatives and Finnish journalists, who will share their knowledge on the Finnish market and how this relates to other European countries. In addition there will be a Finnish networking reception bringing together European live music professionals and Finnish representatives.

Tuomo Tähtinen, Executive Director, Music Finland
“Eurosonic Noorderslag has become a prominent showcase platform for Finnish acts. The event has succeeded in creating excellent chances of connecting with and showcasing to a top-notch international delegation comprising festival bookers, media and key players from other industry sectors alike. Considering this and the current, steady uprising of interesting new Finnish acts in all genres, the country partnership couldn’t take place at a better time. Together with the Eurosonic Noorderslag team, we’re on a path to building something very interesting for Eurosonic Noorderslag 2013.”

Peter Smidt, Creative Director, Eurosonic Noorderslag
“Music Export Finland, Finnish Music Information Centre Fimic, YleX, Provinssirock and Ruisrock Festival have been steady partners from the start of Eurosonic Noorderslag. With successful acts like Disco Ensemble, Astrid Swan, LCMDF, French Films, Reckless Love, Mirel Wagner and many many more there is enough reason to do a focus on the healthy Finnish music scene at Eurosonic Noorderslag 2013”.

The focus on Finland at Eurosonic Noorderslag will be organized by Music Finland (Music Export Finland and Finnish Music Information Centre Fimic) in cooperation with YleX, Finnish Cultural Institute for the Benelux, Embassy of Finland in The Netherlands and Eurosonic Noorderslag.

Eurosonic Noorderslag
Eurosonic Noorderslag takes place from Wednesday the 9th to Saturday the 12th of January 2013 in Groningen, the Netherlands. More information can be found at