Image Image Image Image Image
Scroll to Top

To Top

October 2015



First seven acts for country focus announced

In January 2016, the Central Eastern European (CEE) region will be the focus region at Eurosonic Noorderslag. The first seven acts confirmed to perform at the 30th edition of the European Music Platform are; Alina Orlova (LH), Bokka (PL), Jonathan (HR), June (MK), Ludovik Material (SK), Momend (LV) and Middlemist Red (HU).

Peter Smidt, creative director Eurosonic Noorderslag:
“We find it extremely exciting to present this yet unknown talent from the Central Eastern region to the rest of Europe. These seven acts are the first of a larger group of acts from the CEE region to perform at Eurosonic Noorderslag in January. Keep an eye on our socials, because there is more to come!”

Fruzsina Szép (co-founder of CEETEP and co-organiser of the CEE Focus @ Eurosonic 2016, Festival Director – Lollapalooza Berlin, Hörstmann Unternehmensgruppe) added:
“I have a great message to all of the curious delegates of our musical family coming to Eurosonic: You will experience loads of Central-Eastern European power, soul, love, magic and surprises what the amazing artists of the CEE Focus has to offer.”

CEETEP (2010 – 2015)
The focus for 2016 is the conclusion of the Central European Talent Exchange Programme (CEETEP). Together with 18 CEETEP festivals in the CEE region and selected CEE media partners, Eurosonic Noorderslag and co-organisers Sziget and Exit Festival, have developed a plan to encourage the circulation of CEE artists and repertoire in Central and Eastern Europe, both at festivals and in the media. By working together, the CEETEP festivals and their media partners aim to help more CEE artists perform across borders within Central Eastern Europe, and, via shows at Eurosonic Noorderslag, throughout the whole of Europe and beyond.

The 13 focus countries in the CEE group are:
Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, the Republic of Macedonia, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia and Slovenia. View the 18 CEETEP festivals.

The CEE-focus will be organised by: Fruzsina Szép (HU/DE), Exit (RS), Open’er Festival (PL), Pohoda (SK), Waves Bratislava (SK), Talinn Music Week (EE), Guna Zuika (Creative Industries Council at the Ministry of Culture, Latvia) (LV) and Eurosonic Noorderslag (NL).

Eurosonic Noorderslag takes place between January 13th-16th 2016 in Groningen, The Netherlands.