Image Image Image Image Image
Scroll to Top

To Top

January 2019



Public Choice Winners of Music Moves Europe Talent Awards awarded at ESNS 2019

At a festive award ceremony, in the presence of EU Commissioner for Culture Tibor Navracsics, the Public Choice Winners of the Music Moves Europe Talent Awards have been revealed at ESNS 2019’s European Music Awards Night. A jury previously selected twelve winners in six categories, who represent the European sound of today and tomorrow.

Now it was up to the public to vote for their favourite artist in each category. The Public Choice winners are:

  • Pop: Bishop Briggs (gb)
  • Rock: Pip Blom (nl)
  • Electronic: Stelartronic (at)
  • RnB/Urban: Rosalía (es)
  • Hip Hop/Rap: Reykjavíkurdætur (is)
  • Singer-songwriter: Albin Lee Meldau (se)

The Music Moves Europe Talent Awards are the new European Union Prize for popular and contemporary music. These are the very first winners at the Music Moves Europe Talent Awards. ESNS 19 celebrated emerging European artists at the award night at de Oosterpoort in Groningen, with performances by Bishop Briggs, Pip Blom, Reykjavíkurdætur, Albin Lee Meldau, blackwave., Avec and Lxandra.

The Jury
The international jury for the Music Moves Europe Talent Awards consists of Huw Stephens (Presenter BBC Radio 1), Julia Gudzent (Festival Programmer Melt!), Katia Giampaolo (CEO Estragon Club Italy), Kristian Kostov (Winner EBBA + Public Choice Award 2018) and Wilbert Mutsaers (Head of Content, Spotify Benelux). Representing the organizing parties are Robert Meijerink (Booker ESNS) as the chairman of the Jury and Bjørn Pfarr (Booker Reeperbahn Festival) as the vice-chairman of the jury.

The Prize
The aim of the Music Moves Europe Talent Awards is to celebrate new and upcoming artists from Europe and support them in order to help them develop and accelerate their international careers. Therefore, the prize package consists of €5000 tour and promotion support, several performances at ESNS, free publicity and a tailor made training programme.

Succeeding the European Border Breakers Awards (EBBA), the annual Music Moves Europe Talent Awards are co-funded by the European Commission’s Creative Europe programme, with the additional support of the Municipality of Groningen, Province of Groningen and the Dutch Ministry of Education, Culture and Science. The awards are presented by ESNS and Reeperbahn Festival, in cooperation with Yourope, the European Broadcasting Union (EBU), Independent Music Companies Association (IMPALA), International Music Managers Forum (IMMF), Liveurope, Live DMA, European Music Exporters Exchange (EMEE) and Digital Music Europe (DME).