Buma Awards

From March 2014, the Gouden and Zilveren Harpen have been replaced by the Buma Awards. During the Buma Awards, awards are presented to the twenty most played and sold songs written by (Dutch) Buma members. The awards are also given to the writers of the most internationally successful (Dutch) songs and the best lyricist receives a Lennaert Nijgh Prize. Buma also honours its greatest composers with a Lifetime Achievement Award, celebrates the music written for the most successful Dutch film and on this evening also awards a Gouden Harp to a person who has meant a lot to Dutch copyright, for music from the Netherlands.
Criteria Buma Awards.


The Popprijs is awarded every year during ESNS to the group or artist who has made the most important contribution to Dutch pop music in the past year.

Popprijs winners so far are Ali B, Anouk, Arling & Cameron, Bettie Serveert, Bløf, Marco Borsato, Herman Brood, Armin van Buuren, Caro Emerald, Claw Boys Claw, The Common Linnets, De Dijk, DI-RECT, Eboman, The Ex, Floor Jansen, Goldband, De Jeugd van Tegenwoordig, Joost Klein, Junkie XL, Kensington, Kyteman’s Hiphop Orkest, Martin Garrix, New Wave, The Nits, The Opposites, Osdorp Posse, Postmen, Mathilde Santing, Racoon, Ronnie Flex, The Scene, Spinvis, DJ Tiësto, 2 Unlimited, Urban Dance Squad and Within Temptation.

De Veer

De Veer is an annual industry prize awarded during the Buma Relations Dinner at ESNS.
Criteria De Veer

Willem Wilminkprijs

Buma Cultuur supports the Willem Wilmink Prize. This is the Best Children’s Song prize, consisting of a cash prize of € 5,000 and a work of art by Helga Kock am Brink. The goal of the prize is to stimulate the quality of children’s songs. Former winners are Ted van Lieshout and Oene van Geel (2010), Koos Meinderts and Thijs Borsten (2012), Floortje Schoevaart and Henny Vrienten (2014), Jan Beuving and Akwasi (2017), Katinka Polderman and Kenny B (2018), Jeroen Schipper (2019), Typhoon (2021), Jurrian van Dongen and Jan and Keez Groenteman (2022) and Jurrian van Dongen (2023).

Buma Kindermuziekprijs

The Buma Kindermuziekprijs is an oeuvre prize for Dutch composers who have devoted their hearts and souls to reaching the youngest generation with music. Former winners are Ernst, Bobbie en de rest (2023), Dirk Scheele (2022).

Buma Samen Muziek Maken-prijs

The Buma Samen Muziek Maken-prijs is an incentive prize and recognition for the makers of children’s music, whose music and performances contribute to integration and musical cooperation between children, regardless of origin, gender, age or taste. The prize is awarded every two years and was won in 2023 by Naomi Inez Wielinga (De Liedjestovenaar).

Buma Cultuur also awards the Annie M.G. Schmidtprijs, the prize for the best theatre song, part of the Amsterdams Kleinkunst Festival, and there are prizes that have been awarded in the past. Check out the Awards section in the FAQ.