The MME Awards, the European Union music prize

On 19 January 2023, the winners of the 2023 Music Moves Europe Awards will be announced. Fifteen outstanding nominated artists are eligible for this year’s MME Awards, including the acclaimed Grand Jury Award, and the Public Choice Award. The ceremony will take place during ESNS (Eurosonic Noorderslag), the European music conference and showcase festival. The MME Awards are a prize of the European Union, and has previously been known as EBBA and Music Moves Europe Talent Awards. Previous winners include Rosalia, Dua Lipa, Stromae, Hozier, Pale Waves, Meskerem Mees, Blanks and Christine and the Queens.

The 2023 nominees

The 2023 nominees are Amelie Siba (Czechia), CMAT (Ireland), eee gee (Denmark), Goldkimono (Netherlands), Hause Plants (Portugal), Jerry Heil (Ukraine), July Jones (Slovenia), Kids Return (France), KOIKOI (Serbia), Monikaze (Lithuania), Oska (Austria), Queralt Lahoz (Spain), Sans Soucis (Italy), schmyt (Germany), The Haunted Youth (Belgium). Five Music Moves Europe Award winners will receive €10,000 each. The winner of the Grand Jury Award will receive €10.000 and a green touring voucher worth €5,000. The winner of the Public Choice Award will receive €5,000. The Music Moves Europe Awards Ceremony will be presented by radio host Fernando Halman and Ukrainian singer, and former MME Award winner Alina Pash.

ESNS showcases and artist education

After the awards ceremony, on January 19th 2023, all 15 nominees will perform at ESNS, the world’s largest showcase event for European music. Alongside the 15 nominees from 2023, ESNS will feature performances by 2022 contenders Blanks (NL), Francis of Delirium (LU) and Alina Pash (UA). Naaz (NL), the winner of the 2020 Public Choice Award, will perform a showcase. Set times are available at the ESNS website. Furthermore, an education and professionalisation event will be organised for the 2022 and 2023 MME Awards nominees and their representatives. In this programme the attendees will receive training to improve their daily business. The topics include syncing (how to get your song featured in a Netflix Series or a computer game) and sustainability (how to organise a CO2 friendly show or tour).

Last chance to vote!

Music fans across Europe will vote to select the winner of the Public Choice Award 2023 via the Music Moves Europe Awards website: The nominee with the most votes wins the prestigious Public Choice Award. Voting closes on Friday January 6th.

Jury Members

The jury of the 2023 Music Moves Europe Awards consists of five people that earned their stripes in the music industry. Each year the Public Choice winner of the previous year joins the MME Awards jury. This year this seat is taken by Jacqueline Baghdasaryan, the singer of Armenian act Ladaniva. The other jury members are: Cindy Castillo (MadCool festival), Gemma Bradly (BBC radio), Brian Johnson (Spotify) and Kevin Cole (KEXP).

About the Music Moves Europe

The Music Moves Europe awards are organised by ESNS and Reeperbahn Festival, supported by Liveurope, Yourope, Live DMA, IMPALA, Digital Music Europe, ICMP-CIEM, International Music Managers Forum (IMMF) and European Music Exporters Exchange (EMEE).

Back to news overview

Recent news

muzikaal erfgoed behouden met o.a. vernon chatlein

Report inJazz panel: preserving musical heritage

ESNS announces first 38 names for 2024